My little space in the world

Teaching in action – examples to share

Macs and Me!!

October18

I have been a PC user for my entire ‘computerlife’.  I did have one go with a MAC as I almost inherited one as a leased teacher laptop a few years ago, however breathed a sigh of relief as a new PC arrived in the school and was handed to me!!

I have felt sorry for Maheno staff all year as their PC facilitator arrives and needs to ‘play’ to explore the software (or hardware) first, or as they are sent links to download free software they find that many of them are for PC – so I suppose that this is a bit of a public apology for them.  I will say that I do feel we have continued to be fruitful on my visits and that we have continued to move forward.  Thanks to their wonderful junior teacher Anne who leads this and has become a real MAC convert.

I must say that I had a wonderful couple of sessions with kids and teachers in Kurow the other day at Waitaki Valley.  We were looking to explore the programme ‘Garageband’  and achieved so much though ‘discovery learning’.  It is wonderful how intuitive children are and how creative they can also be when they are given quite wide parameters.  Anyway – I think that I have overcome my own personal MAC stigma (Phew!) and look forward to future MAC experiences!!

I still do enjoy this little South Park clip of PC vs MAC.  If you know ANYTHING about MACs and PCs – then you have to watch this!

One Comment to

“Macs and Me!!”

  1. October 20th, 2007 at 2:21 pm       Helen Says:

    Deidre I am really glad you enjoyed your day at Waitaki Valley. After only one week I have watched the children making so many new discoveries using their new macs and all the time having new learning . It is all very exciting.


Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:

Reading Tip of the Day

var LMWIDGET_width= 200; var LMWIDGET_height= 430; var LMWIDGET_postcount= 0;This widget requires the use of javascript!This widget requires the use of javascript!
Find this blog in the education blogs directory

Archives



Skip to toolbar