My little space in the world

Teaching in action – examples to share

The implications of Social Media

December10

I have always been a firm believer of educating students about the implications of Internet Safety.  For this reason we don’t have any blocks on anything at school -but we have clear procedures in place should a child come across something inappropriate.  In the past 4 years I could count the number of incidents at our Intermediate School on one hand.  We are active educators though and I regularly have quick conversations with students about their behaviours online if I have come across something that I think they may not have thought of the implications of.

I listened to a speaker the other night who was focused primarily on preventing bullying – bullying through social media -whether text or Web 2.0 tools.  She showed these videos that I thought were just fantastic and also had a VERY clear message too.  I love the E-Mum clip especially and it just shows how easily it can be to represent yourself as someone else and still be very accepted into someone’s world (in a tongue in cheek way!!)

Check these out – they are well worth the couple of minutes of viewing time – and will provide quite a laugh too!!
Demetri Martin – Trendspotting

 

Today Now – E-Mum

And on a serious note – I think that this too is very powerful:

Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:

Reading Tip of the Day

var LMWIDGET_width= 200; var LMWIDGET_height= 430; var LMWIDGET_postcount= 0;This widget requires the use of javascript!This widget requires the use of javascript!
Find this blog in the education blogs directory

Archives



Skip to toolbar